Xbox Tokyo Game Show 2021: How to watch and start time

Spread the love

The Tokyo Game Show is one of the biggest gaming conventions on the planet, where publishers and developers assemble in Japan to discuss their latest projects to the world. Microsoft has announced it plans to join the event via virtual stream showing the latest from its Xbox brand.

Microsoft’s showcase is slated for Thursday, Sept. 30, 2021. The event targets the Japanese market, kicking off at 6 p.m. local time. The 6 p.m. JST (Japan) start time translates to 5 a.m. ET / 2 a.m. PT / 10 a.m. BST (UK) for those overseas.

You can watch the whole stream on Tokyo Game Show’s Twitch channel. You can also catch the Xbox virtual showcase on Xbox social channels in Japan, Korea, and China.

VPN Deals: Lifetime license for $16, monthly plans at $1 & more

Microsoft hasn’t stated exactly what they’ll be showcasing, but given their recent announcement of bringing Xbox Cloud Gaming for the Xbox App on PC, we can expect that Microsoft could be announcing the general availability of Xbox Game Pass‘s Xbox Cloud Gaming in Japan.

For those expecting big announcements, Microsoft has downplayed any exclusives or global reveals, instead emphasizing that the showcase will focus on “regionally relevant” updates. Expect to see much of what was already revealed at E3 and Gamescom already, designed as an introduction to the ecosystem for the Japanese market.

Microsoft’s Xbox Series S and Xbox Series X have been performing well so far in Japan (at least for Xbox), outselling the Xbox One generation by a healthy margin. Microsoft may have a huge way to go to truly penetrate the Japanese market, but it does seem like they’re gradually making headway, with franchises like Yakuza, Tales of Arise, and Dragon Quest hitting Xbox this past year.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.

Leave a Reply