Xbox Series X games event set for July 23, with Halo Infinite and more

Spread the love

It’s time for the big one — Microsoft has outlined plans to host its next Xbox Series X games showcase on July 23, providing a sample of upcoming titles headed to the next generation. The hotly-anticipated live stream promises a variety of planned Xbox Series X releases, including its first-party lineup under the Xbox Game Studios family. While the full game roster remains a mystery, Halo Infinite, the latest installment of the hit Xbox-exclusive shooter, is among confirmed attendees.

Microsoft presents its Xbox Game Showcase as a digital-only live stream, adapting around current world events amid the cancellation of top industry shows like E3 and Gamescom 2020. The show runs from 9 a.m. PDT / 12 p.m. EDT / 5 p.m. BST / 6 p.m. CEST on Thursday, July 23, backing our previous reporting from June. The show will broadcast on YouTube, Twitch, Facebook, and other prevalent live streaming platforms.

Best online learning tools for kids: ABCmouse, Reading IQ, & more

Microsoft has also announced a pre-show stream hosted by Geoff Keighley scheduled for one hour prior, as a part of the ongoing “Summer Game Fest.”

While Microsoft has kept its list of appearances somewhat a mystery, Halo Infinite is among confirmed titles making their gameplay debut. The next entry in the sci-fi shooter drops later this year, scheduled to launch adjacent to the Xbox Series X console. The cross-generation installment also lands on Xbox One consoles, with many hoping for an impressive showcase following a mainline absence for half a decade.

We’re also expecting other titles from Microsoft’s wealth of franchises, namely the next Forza installment after a one-year hiatus. We may also see Senua’s Saga: Hellblade II and Everwild following brief teasers late last year, even with assumed launches far beyond 2020. Other titles scheduled for this calendar year also seem all-but-confirmed, such as Grounded, Microsoft Flight Simulator, or Wasteland 3.

Microsoft’s new Santa Monica-based studio, “The Initiative,” may also debut its first project. The studio has scooped up some serious industry talent in recent years, lead former Tomb Raider boss Darrell Gallagher, and featuring leads from God of War and Red Dead Redemption. Work has been underway for some time — although only a small glimpse of its vision appears likely.

What do you hope to see from the July Xbox Games Showcase? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply