Why Is My iPhone or iPad Not Showing Prompt to Update

Spread the love
Are you clamoring to get the latest iOS 14/iPadOS 14 update installed on your device? But when you go to Settings > General > Software Update, you aren’t prompted to update? We cover the reasons why.

iPadOS 14 Update Prompt

What happens is the updates are rolled out to certain devices slowly depending on which time zone your device is in. Here is a list of possible times.

  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HAST
  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT
  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST
  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT
  • Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT
  • New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Raleigh, North Carolina — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT
  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST
  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST
  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK
  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST
  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST
  • Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 a.m. WIB next day
  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day
  • Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day
  • Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 a.m. ACST next day
  • Sydney, Australia — 3:00 a.m. AEST next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 a.m. NZST next day

Please note that there is no guarantee your device will surely receive the update at the time above. The servers are quite overwhelmed with requests and it may take a bit longer than expected.

Also ensure your device is compatible with the iOS 14/iPadOS 14. iPadOS 14 will be available for quite a few devices. Here’s the full list:

  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (4th generation)
  • iPad Pro 11-inch (2nd generation)
  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd generation)
  • iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation)
  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd generation)
  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (1st generation)
  • iPad Pro 10.5-inch
  • iPad Pro 9.7-inch
  • iPad (7th generation)
  • iPad (6th generation)
  • iPad (5th generation)
  • iPad mini (5th generation)
  • iPad mini 4
  • iPad Air (3rd generation)
  • iPad Air 2

iOS will be available for these iPhone models:

  • iPhone 6s and iPhone 6s Plus
  • iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus
  • iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus
  • iPhone X
  • iPhone Xr
  • iPhone Xs and iPhone Xs Max
  • iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max
  • iPhone SE
  • iPod Touch, 7th generation

If you have installed the beta versions of iOS 14 or iPadOS 14, ensure that you have removed the beta profile.

  1. Go to Settings > General, and tap Profiles & Device Management.
  2. Tap the iOS Beta Software Profile.
  3. Tap Remove Profile, then restart your device.


Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply