They assured users that all messages between you and your friends and family will remain private with its end-to-end encryption. “…neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can see these private messages,” they clarified. They also said they don’t keep a log of messages and calls and they are not able to see your shared location and they will not share your contacts with Facebook. And even with the update coming up, none of that will be affected.
What’s changing is that there will be new options for people to message a business on the platform. This is the data that will be shared if the business is using Facebook and WhatsApp to manage their communications with customers. But they promise to be more transparent in how they collect and use data. Because of all the clarification that needs to be made, they are now letting people review the policy and accept it or not by May 15.
Whether this extended deadline and clarification will bring back users that have jumped ship remains to be seen. It probably depends on the level of trust that consumers have for Facebook and all its other brands like WhatsApp and Instagram.