Overwatch 2 Season 2: Everything new, Battle Pass, Ramattra, events, and more

One of the biggest things that separates Overwatch 2 from the original Overwatch experience is that Blizzard has committed to supporting it with consistent seasonal updates. Every nine weeks, players can expect a fresh wave of content that includes new heroes, maps, or game modes, as well as a brand new Battle Pass to progress through and lots of cosmetic goodies for a variety of the game’s heroes.

Overwatch 2 Season 2 has officially kicked off following the end of the first season, and it brings new gameplay offerings, new skins, balance changes, and a host of other additions. In this high-level overview of Season 2, we’ll go over all of these details and more.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: Release date and launch time

Ramattra battles Ashe, Echo, and several other heroes while in Nemesis Form. (Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

Overwatch 2’s second season released on December 6, 2022 at 12:00 p.m. PT, which is the game’s standard weekly reset time. As such, it is now available to all players globally, though you’ll have to download and install a small update before you can get into the game.

The list below shows when the Season 2 went live in various regions across the world.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Timezone Expected release time
Pacific Time (PT) Dec. 6, 12:00 p.m.
Mountain Time (MT) Dec. 6, 1:00 p.m.
Central Time (CT) Dec. 6, 2:00 p.m.
Eastern Time (ET) Dec. 6, 3:00 p.m.
Brasilia Time (BRT) Dec. 6, 4:00 p.m.
Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) Dec. 6, 7:00 p.m.
British Summer Time (BST) Dec. 6, 8:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time (CEST) Dec. 6, 9:00 p.m.
Moscow Time (MSK) Dec. 6, 10:00 p.m.
Gulf Standard Time (GST) Dec. 6, 11:00 p.m.
Indian Standard Time (IST) Dec. 7, 12:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time (SNST) Dec. 7, 3:00 a.m.
China Standard Time (CST) Dec. 7, 3:00 a.m.
Japan Standard Time (JST) Dec. 7, 4:00 a.m.
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Dec. 7, 5:00 a.m.
New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) Dec. 7, 8:00 a.m.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: Roadmap

The Overwatch 2 Season 2 roadmap. (Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

The roadmap above provides a quick overview of what’s coming throughout Season 2, while also highlighting when events are planned to go live. Notably, Overwatch 2 Season 2 will have three special events, including the following:

  • Winter Wonderland: Dec. 13, 2022 – Jan. 4, 2023
  • Battle for Olympus: Jan. 5, 2023 – Jan. 19, 2023
  • Year of the Rabbit: Jan. 17, 2023 – Feb. 6, 2023

Overwatch 2 Season 2: Battle Pass skins, rewards, and price

Hades Pharah, one of the Legendary skins in the Overwatch 2 Season 2 Battle Pass. (Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

The Season 2 Overwatch 2 Battle Pass is themed around Greek mythology, so expect plenty of voice lines, sprays, souvenirs, skins, and more that draw inspiration from iconic Ancient Greek folklore. Like the Season 1 pass, this one also has split free and Premium reward tracks, with the Premium Battle Pass costing 1,000 Overwatch Coins — the equivalent of $10.

Progressing through the Battle Pass is how players unlock Overwatch 2 Season 2’s new tank hero, Ramattra. Free-to-play players will unlock Ramattra on Tier 55, while Premium Battle Pass owners will get access to him instantly.

The highlights of the Battle Pass are two of its Legendary skins, Hades Pharah and Poseidon Ramattra, as well as the new Zeus Junker Queen Mythic skin. All three of these skins can be seen in the image at the top of the article, though we’ll also go into more detail about Zeus Junker Queen. Below, though, you’ll find a complete overview of the entire Season 2 Battle Pass that goes over every tier, the unlocks from them, and whether they’re Premium exclusive or not. 

Tier 1 — Tier 20

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tier Reward Availability
1 Ramattra (Premium unlock), Bug Hero Soldier: 76 Legendary Skin, Cerberus Weapon Charm Premium
2 Cerberus Player Icon Free
3 Trident Name Card Premium
4 “How High” Wrecking Ball Voice Line Premium
5 Graceful Stroll Widowmaker Emote Premium
6 Poised Widowmaker Victory Pose Free
7 Bug Hero Soldier: 76 Spray Premium
8 Unleashed Hanzo Highlight Intro Premium
9 “Call me Cyclops” Ana Voice Line Premium
10 Cobra Queen Symmetra Epic Skin Free
11 Botanist Player Icon Premium
12 Bug Hero Name Card Premium
13 Gotcha Junkrat Highlight Intro Free
14 Tactical Kick Soldier: 76 Spray Premium
15 Lyre Weapon Charm Premium
16 God of the Sea Ramattra Spray Premium
17 Locked and Loaded Reaper Victory Pose Premium
18 “Divine Fire” Moira Voice Line Premium
19 Bug Hero Player Icon Free
20 Poseidon Ramattra Legendary Skin Premium

Tier 21 — Tier 40

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tier Reward Availability
21 Queen Cobra Player Icon Premium
22 Bullet Barrier Symmetra Spray Premium
23 Pegasus Souvenir Free
24 Casual Torbjorn Victory Pose Premium
25 “Smited or Smitten” Junker Queen Voice Line Premium
26 Stepping Stones Sigma Emote Premium
27 Extra! Tracer Spray Premium
28 Dance Machine Name Card Free
29 “Midas Touch” Sombra Voice Line Premium
30 Botanist Ana Legendary Skin Premium
31 Dance Machine Player Icon Free
32 Hades Pharah Spray Premium
33 Knuckles Doomfist Highlight Intro Premium
34 “Make Like Odysseus” Kiriko Voice Line Premium
35 Salute Soldier: 76 Victory Pose Premium
36 Botanist Ana Spray Free
37 Trident Weapon Charm Premium
38 Zeus Name Card Premium
39 “Scales and the Sword” Orisa Voice Line Free
40 Dance Machine Echo Epic Skin Premium

Tier 41 — Tier 60

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tier Reward Availability
41 Street Urchin Player Icon Premium
42 Camellia Souvenir Premium
43 Queen Cobra Symmetra Spray Free
44 Quick Break Victory Pose Premium
45 Ramattra (Free unlock), Salt Weapon Charm Free
46 “Grapes” Junkrat Voice Line Free
47 Acropolis Name Card Premium
48 Dance Machine Echo Spray Premium
49 “Man Who Enters Hell” Sigma Voice Line Premium
50 Street Urchin Tracer Legendary Skin Premium
51 Goddess of Thunder Junker Queen Spray Free
52 Amphora Player Icon Premium
53 Breaking News Souvenir Premium
54 “Shape Up” Soldier: 76 Voice Line Premium
55 Trident Ramattra Emote Free
56 Street Urchin Tracer Spray Premium
57 Botanist Name Card Premium
58 “Tracer-thon” Tracer Voice Line Free
59 Victory Sign Winston Victory Pose Premium
60 Hades Pharah Legendary Skin Premium

Tier 61 — Tier 80

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tier Reward Availability
61 Poseidomari Player Icon Free
62 “Justice is Cruel” Ramattra Voice Line Premium
63 Cerberus Name Card Premium
64 Olympus Spray Premium
65 Area Sweep Baptiste Emote Free
66 Groovin’ Echo Victory Pose Premium
67 “Push a Rock” Kiriko Voice Line Premium
68 Winged Helm Souvenir Premium
69 Plutomari Player Icon Premium
70 Primordial Ramattra Epic Skin Free
71 Infernal Rockets Pharah Spray Premium
72 Laurel Wreath Player Icon Premium
73 “Real Life” Hanzo Voice Line Premium
74 Medusa Souvenir Free
75 Gorgon Coin Weapon Charm Premium
76 Poseidon Ramattra Spray Premium
77 Newspaper Tracer Victory Pose Premium
78 Photon Barrier Symmetra Highlight Intro Premium
79 Queen Cobra Name Card Free
80 Zeus Junker Queen Mythic Skin, Shockimari Player Icon, Zeus Junker Queen Spray Premium

New Mythic skin: Zeus Junker Queen

Zeus Junker Queen, Overwatch 2 Season 2’s new Mythic skin. (Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

Like the Mythic Cyber Demon Genji skin before it, Zeus Junker Queen is the final reward on the Battle Pass, available to players that purchase the Premium Battle Pass and reach Tier 80 by completing matches and finishing gameplay challenges. The default version of the skin is primarily white and yellow with some brown accents, though players can make it look black and red with pink accents, or blue with light blue accents. Various pieces of the skin’s armor can be swapped around for alternative choices as well, giving fans plenty of customization options.

Other Overwatch 2 Season 2 new skins

In addition to the skins mentioned above, several other Greek mythology-inspired skins will also be available from the Overwatch 2 Shop during Overwatch 2 Season 2. These include Minotaur Reinhardt, Cyclops Roadhog, Medusa Widowmaker, Hermes Lucio, and potentially more.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: New tank hero Ramattra

Ramattra using his Annihilation Ultimate. (Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

One of the most exciting things about Overwatch 2 Season 2 is that it introduced Ramattra, the leader of Null Sector and the game’s next tank hero. Labeled as a “tempo tank” by Blizzard developers, Ramattra’s ability to swap between two different forms makes him one of the most versatile and dynamic characters on the battlefield.

We have an in-depth Ramattra hero guide that goes into every detail available about the character, so in this article, we’ll summarize his kit. With his Void Accelerator in Omnic Form, Ramattra is able to harass opponents from afar with streams of projectiles and create a durable barrier for his teammates at a targeted location. Once he swaps into Nemesis Form, however, Ramattra will grow larger, gain an extra 150 Armor health, and will swap out his Void Accelerator for piercing punch attacks and a block ability that allows him to significantly reduce incoming damage while sacrificing movement speed.

At any time while he’s in Omnic Form or Nemesis Form, Ramattra can shoot a Ravenous Vortex projectile at his opponents. Enemies caught in the area-of-effect of this ability will be damaged, slowed, and pulled to the ground if they’re jumping or airborne, making it difficult for them to escape. Finally, there’s Ramattra’s Annihilation Ultimate. When activated, this ability activates Nemesis Form and creates a swarm of nanobots around Ramattra that automatically leech onto nearby opponents, damaging them and reducing their damage by 50%. This Ultimate won’t wear off while the nanobots are targeting someone, so Annihilation will last until Ramattra dies or the enemies he’s fighting do.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: New map Shambali Monastery

Overwatch 2 Season 2 is also adds a new map to the game: Shambali Monastery, an Escort (also known as Payload) map set in the mountains of Nepal where both Zenyatta and Ramattra originally became monks. Overall, it’s a pretty open map, although there are also several small indoor areas where close-quarters fighting reigns supreme.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: New Battle for Olympus game mode

(Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

From Jan. 5-19, a special limited-time gameplay event called Battle for Olympus will be available. Little is known about the specifics of it at the moment, but something we do know is that several Overwatch heroes will gain unique god-like powers in the mode that match the theme of their Ancient Greek mythology skins. 

For example, it looks like Roadhog’s Whole Hog Ultimate will allow him to launch large rocks at foes similar to how the Cyclops threw boulders at Odysseus’ boat in The Odyssey, and Junker Queen’s Commanding Shout will call down damaging lightning bolts that strike nearby opponents.

The mode also appears to be free-for-all in nature, rather than team-based like the rest of Overwatch 2’s game modes. Because of this, we anticipate that it will be a lot like Deathmatch, with the above mythological twists shaking things up in interesting ways.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: Balance changes

Sojourn is getting some nerfs in Overwatch 2 Season 2, as she’s dominated most of Season 1’s competitive scene with her long-range power. (Image credit: Activision Blizzard)

Blizzard is also implementing some balance changes in Season 2, with the most significant one being a nerf to Sojourn’s railgun that reduces how far away she can be from her enemies while still landing one-shots with a fully charged critical hit. Doomfist is also getting some buffs that will “better support his role as the team’s front line,” while also maintaining the highly aggressive and mobile playstyle that’s at the heart of his kit.

Some adjustments for Ana, Bastion, Junker Queen, Kiriko, Mercy, and Symmetra have also come with the launch of Season 2. For a full overview of every tweak, don’t miss our deep dive into the Overwatch 2 Season 2 patch notes as well as our roundup of all Overwatch 2 hero changes and character reworks.

The developers also confirmed that during Season 2, the Rialto and Blizzard World maps will be returning to the Overwatch 2 map pool. Hollywood and Watchpoint: Gibraltar, on the other hand, are rotating out for the duration of the season. Though these maps will be available to play on in Custom Games, players won’t be able to battle on them in Quick Play, Arcade modes, or ranked Competitive play.

Overwatch 2 Season 2: Trailer

The trailer below provides a close look at all of the content, cosmetics, and more coming to Overwatch 2 when Season 2 launches.


Overwatch 2 is available now on Xbox Series X|S, PS5, PS4, PC, and Nintendo Switch. It’s arguably one of the best Xbox shooters available, and since it’s free-to-play, it doesn’t cost anything to check it out. Alternatively, players can purchase the Overwatch 2: Watchpoint Pack that provides access to a Premium Battle Pass, 2,000 Overwatch Coins, and a bundle of unique Legendary skins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *