Advertisements

Minecraft Dungeons launch time, release date for Xbox, PS4, PC, and Switch

Spread the love

Minecraft Dungeons hits store shelves this week, fusing the best of the hit adventure franchise with titles like Diablo, serving an action role-playing experience founded on family-friendly exploration. The dungeon-crawling foundations see players traversing a variety of blocky worlds, fighting enemy hordes, and chasing down the next loot drop. The addictive balance of accessible gameplay and ongoing exploration poses an ideal pickup for all ages — and uniquely suited to returning Minecraft fans.

Here’s what you need to know about getting started with Minecraft Dungeons across all platforms — including its release date and scheduled release time.

Minecraft Dungeons release time

Minecraft Dungeons witnesses a slightly different release schedule to your average blockbuster, as a digital-only title, with no disc-based version. While many games are playable at midnight on release day, Dungeons opts for a simultaneous global launch across all four platforms on May 26, 2020.

Best online learning tools for kids: ABCmouse, Reading IQ, & more

That means all budding Minecraft Dungeons players can play at the same point in time, 8 AM GMT, whether living in Australia or the far west U.S. coast. Those located further east will need to wait until later for their time zone, while the equivalent U.S. launch translates to early hours of the morning. Below follows an extensive list of Minecraft Dungeons launch timings per time zone, breaking down availability in your region, via a Mojang FAQ.

  • 1 AM PDT
  • 4 AM EDT
  • 9 AM BST
  • 10 AM CEST
  • 5 PM JST
  • 6PM AEST

Following the launch time, Minecraft Dungeons will be available on your system.

How to preorder Minecraft Dungeons

While Microsoft now owns Mojang, the creators behind the blockbuster series, Minecraft Dungeons remains a fully multiplatform title. Minecraft Dungeons launches on Xbox One, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, and Windows PCs — but with no disc-based version, buyers find themselves on official storefronts.

Minecraft Dungeons is now available for preorder on Xbox One via the Xbox Store, and Windows PCs via the integrated Microsoft Store. However, Microsoft isn’t accepting preorders for Minecraft Dungeons on PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch, requiring users to pick up the game at release day instead. Exactly why is unclear — but you’ll need to buy and install once available in your region.

Minecraft goes full RPG

Minecraft Dungeons

Minecraft grows up and reaches out.

Minecraft Dungeons is the next saga in Minecraft’s story, and it looks like Mojang and Microsoft are hitting another one out of the park. Minecraft Dungeons combines the familiar world we all grew up on with an injection of Diablo, a whole lot of fun. Available on every platform you’re on, for a ridiculously attractive price, what’s not to love?

Why can’t I buy Minecraft Dungeons on PS4 and Nintendo Switch?

As previously mentioned, Minecraft Dungeons preorders remain exclusive to Xbox One and PC versions of the game. The exact reasoning remains unclear, but PlayStation Store and Nintendo eShop purchases are expected to open once the game goes live — currently scheduled for 8 AM GMT on all platforms.

Minecraft Dungeons only weighs in around a few GB, so downloading it shouldn’t be a massive issue for most.

How to preload Minecraft Dungeons

With Minecraft Dungeons only available as a digital download, preloading is recommended for those on Xbox One and PC. The game also comes included with Xbox Game Pass on both platforms, which also supports preloading. To preload on your desired platform, pre-order the game and initiate the download process.

The feature allows those who preorder to download the full game before launch, ensuring it’s ready to play the moment it unlocks across the globe. Preloading helps avoid potential delays when installing, proving especially valuable during a period when gaming networks are under heavier loads than ever. However, Minecraft Dungeons isn’t available for preload on PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply