Google’s new storage policy will delete account data after two years of inactivity

Spread the love

Google’s announcing some new policy changes surrounding the use of Gmail, Docs, and Google Photos. In an effort to purge unused storage, Google is updating its policy to delete users’ data from its most popular services on accounts that are inactive for more than two years. This is noted on Google’s Help site.

Beginning on June 1, 2021, Google will enact a new policy that applies to the storage on several of its services. As early as June 1, 2023, Google will delete data from Drive, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Jamboard, Gmail, Photos, Drawings, Forms, and Sites if they are inactive for two years.

Google explains that users who don’t wish their data to be deleted should use service with associated account either on a Google app or via browser to keep it active. Google also explains that this change will not apply to Google One users who pay a monthly fee, nor will it apply to Google Workspace (formerly GSuite for business), GSuite for Education, nor GSuite for non-profits.

SourceVia

Leave a Reply