The newest feature that has been added to the WhatsApp application is allowing you to share or view the location of members that are inside your group. However, we should mention that this option is disabled by default and you will need to manually enable it if you to share your location with the members from a specific group.
The new feature is named “Live Location Tracking” and you can already test it out on your WhatsApp application. We have to mention that this new feature has been added to WhatsApp 1.16.399 on Android and WhatsApp 18.104.22.168 on iOS.
For now, the new feature allows you to turn on live location tracking for a period of time up to 5 minutes, but you can also leave it enabled permanently, but we suggest you to not do that, even if the members inside a group are trustful). Anyway, as long as the feature is enabled, all members inside that specific group will be able your exact location.
We have to mention that if you are inside a small group with your best friends, you can leave “Live Location Tracking” enabled all the time and this will be great when you have to meet with them at a location you’ve never been before.
The new feature should make anyone have second thoughts about their privacy. As we’ve told you above, the feature is disabled by default and it can be manually enabled only for the groups you want to know your location.
We have to mention that this type of feature is already available on iMessage via the “Share My Location” setting. However, iMessage is also offering some different options, where you can share your location for an hour, through the end of the day or permanently.
What are your thoughts about the new feature that has been added to the WhatsApp application?
Take your mobile photography game to the next level with this affordable clip-on lens kit from Xenvo . Comes with a macro lens and a super wide angle lens that easily clip onto your phone for professional-grade photos on the go.